Gluten-Free Egg Noodles

“Make your own noodles” was a laughable phrase in my pre-gluten-free days. I admittedly, took for granted the ease in which pasta came and went from my life. Now, not so much.

If I want pasta now I have to pay a premium for the gluten-free variety or settle for ‘spiralized’ veggies, which I love, but sometimes a girl just wants some noodles!!! Especially egg noodles. The commercial gluten-free world doesn’t offer much, if anything, in the egg noodle varieties.

If I WANTED EGG NOODLES IN MY CHICKEN SOUP I HAD TO TAKE MATTERS INTO MY OWN HANDS. Literally!!!

Born out of necessity for my egg pasta cravings and an unwillingness to always pay top dollar for noodles I decided to buckle down and whip up a homemade batch!

Folks, This is so easy, painless, and rewarding you will wonder why you let making your own noodles scare you in the past!

If you have all purpose gluten-free flour (and chances are, if you are gluten-free, you do), eggs, and salt you have the ingredients to make your own egg noodles!

Ingredients:

 1 Cup Gluten -Free All Purpose flour blend (plus more for kneading).

2 Large Eggs

1 Egg yolk

1/2 tsp. Salt

Instructions:

  1. Mix all of the ingredients in a bowl (dough will be sticky).
  2. spread a generous amount of flour on the counter and knead dough until it is smooth and no longer sticky.
  3. Roll the dough out to about a 1/4″ thickness.
  4. Cut noodles any way you would like: Thin & long, thin & short, Square, rectangle, triangle. It doesn’t matter!! Just make sure you are consistent so the noodles cook evenly.

***My son helped me through the whole process. This is how easy this recipe is!!!

Once the noodles are cut you can boil them in salted water for about 4 minutes or add them to soup and let them cook in the broth.

This recipe makes plenty for soup and about 2 servings for a pasta dish. If you need more just double the recipe.

***If you don’t want to use them right away store them in an airtight container in the fridge. They will keep for about a week.

If you want them to keep longer…

***Homemade egg noodles also keep very well in the freezer! EXTRA BONUS – you don’t even have to thaw them before you cook them. Just throw them in boiling water/broth!!!

Enjoy!!!

Stacey

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.